The Journey of my FKT (Nebraska Oak Creek Trail)

IMG_1865

I wanted to give the FKT (fastest Known Time) a try.  I’m not fast by any means, at best I might be an elite jogger.  I figured what the heck why don’t I give it a try.  I also wanted to try and add more FKT routes in Nebraska and so I thought I would try and put this one out there, have it charted and documented for others to attempt as well.  More and more folks are coming out to this Trail each season.

IMG_1858

I Ran from the trailhead in Brainard, Ne to Valparaiso, Ne trail head sign. The route covers 12.98 miles. My run started out well first 2 miles seemed to go by quick. The trail early on is fairly open with some great prairie views. A few twist and turns prior to reaching the village of Loma, Ne about 5.60 miles in. From there I made my way about a half mile up the trail and had a skunk pop out and was traveling towards me. Sorry, No selfie. He stopped me in my tracks however. He took a sharp turn into the brush. I gave him a little bit of time before I thought I was clear.

IMG_1869 (1)

I didn’t waist any time after that and ran past the area as fast as I could. Crisis averted! From there little to no issues the rest of the way as the sun poped out. This trail has some great views along the way and has some fun bridges to cross over as well. As you reach the town of Valparaiso towards the end of the run you crossover a bridge with old railroad trusses.

IMG_1886

It’s a pretty cool deal to finish up with. From there less than a half mile to the trail head sign.  Finish time was 1:29:43. About 6:55 per mile.  I was pleased with the effort especially running a 100KM the week before.  I’m looking forward to some more adventures on this trail and it will be fun to see more fast times for this trail for years to come as it gains popularity.

IMG_1875

 

For now Happy Trailz!

-Graig

 

Leave a comment